Fun at Birse

I managed to secure a rod with a fishing friend Stuart Buchan on Saturday at Birse where we were well looked after by Birse Ghillie Doug Murray. Its one of my personal favourites as it offers a good variety of fly fishing water and provides opportunities at times for big fish. I fished a little in the morning in  Lummels and had a few casts in Irrigation with no success other than a pull to a Monkey fly fished at the tail of the Lummels pool. Lunchtime saw all the rods gather at the hut for a chat and a refreshment.

Image

Ken Reid with Birse Ghillie Doug Murray-at 83 years of age a wonderful character

Stuart and I were allocated the bottom half of the beat in the afternoon and went downriver seeking some action. I must confess that I took 40 winks beside Belwade and woke an hour later ready to have a cast. I waded into the neck of the pool and checked my set-up. I was using a Guideline Le Cie Rod with a Rio AFS shooting head with a ten foot intermediate tip;on the business end a lovely size 13 Maggies shrimp tied by Ross Macdonald-a lovely fly. I had a feeling of Deja vu when my first cast saw a beautiful silver ten pound salmon nail the fly. I had a similar experience in Belwade in April when a fish took first cast. I was thrilled to catch such a lovely fresh fish which gave a good scrap before being landed and returned to the river safely. My friend Stuart was also successful in Red Brae with a 5 lb cock fish that was starting to colour up. We retired to the Potarch Hotel to toast our success before making the short drive back to Banchory. Birse is a long beat that many fishermen would enjoy, offering a great variety of holding pools with quite a bit of seclusion and tranquility. All in all a really nice day out.

About FishDee

The FishDee blog is your website for snippets and news items coming from the riverbank from anglers, ghillies and local people who have useful news they wish to share. The supporting business infrastructure which supports angling will also be providing items of news that may be relevant to people who have an interest in the River Dee.

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Fun at Birse.

Comments are closed.

